h1

D30: Remember

January 31, 2013

hug1“Remember When”

~~Alan Jackson (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTA2buWlNyM)

Remember when I was young and so were you and time stood still and love was all we knew
You were the first, so was I,  We made love and then you cried
Remember when

Remember when we vowed the vows  and walked the walk
Gave our hearts, made the start, it was hard
 We lived and learned, life threw curves
There was joy, there was hurt
Remember when

Remember when old ones died and new were born
And life was changed, disassembled, rearranged
We came together, fell apart
And broke each other’s hearts
Remember when

hug2Remember when the sound of little feet  was the music
We danced to week to week
Brought back the love, we found trust
Vowed we’d never give it up
Remember when

Remember when thirty seemed so old
 Now lookn’ back it’s just a steppin’ stone
To where we are,
Where we’ve been
Said we’d do it all again
Remember when
Remember when we said when we turned gray
When the children grow up and move away
We won’t be sad, we’ll be glad
For all the life we’ve had
And we’ll remember when

I think the fairy tale goes something like this…. You’re young.  You meet this perfect someone.  They are very sexy and cute.  Somehow, you just connect.  You laugh, and love to spend time together.  Life has no worries.  Life is an adventure of possibilities.  Love is found, and it is never to be lost.

In this love found, something beautiful is created.  A family is formed.  Children, and more love.  There are more memories.  Always, there is love.

Though, as most of us would know, life doesn’t always turn out that you fall in love and it remains until the end.  And, for some, love for some reason is never found.  When do you give up?  Does a person give up on the dream?  Does a person give up on love?

hug4Each of our remember when’s…. they are actually all very different.  Maybe, there needs to be a new song for a lot of us.  Maybe, that new song isn’t anything about “Remember When?”  But, instead, maybe the old love can be forgotten because it was never really any good anyway.

Is it good to forget?  Don’t we learn from the past?  I’m not really sure at this moment.  But, somewhere in remember when things just don’t end in beauty, maybe remember isn’t as important as moving forward.

In first meetings, dating, always there are the questions.  The questions of the past.  The questions that dig up regret.  The questions that reveal answers that for the most part are no longer relatable.  So many years ago, and today, well I’m this new person.

All these “Remember When’s”, well they help to create who I am now.  But, me now is not me then.

So, what is the new song?  For me, and for many that I know, I don’t think it is remembering………. I’ll be 42 in March.  Yes, I come with a past.  But, even greater is that I come with a future.  My grandma is full of life at the age of 93.  My great grandma lived to be 101.  In reality, with these genes, I have more of my life to live in the future than I ever had in my past.

I desire a new song.  Yet, I’m not sure the title and I’m not even sure of the lyrics.  I have more than half of my life to live.  The only thing I’m sure of is I desire God to write my new song, and for His beauty, love, and presence to be revealed in my life.

“He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
    out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
    and gave me a firm place to stand.
He put a new song in my mouth,
    a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear the Lord
    and put their trust in him.”  (Psalm 40:2-3)

“Sing to the Lord a new song,
    for he has done marvelous things;
his right hand and his holy arm
    have worked salvation for him.
The Lord has made his salvation known
    and revealed his righteousness to the nations.
He has remembered his love
    and his faithfulness to Israel;
all the ends of the earth have seen
    the salvation of our God.”  (Psalm 98:1-3)

Leave a comment